Author Topic: Commuting By Bicycle - Hybrid Upgrade: Boardman MX Race or Voodo Marasa?  (Read 45328 times)

Offline Geoff Reid

• Twitter: @Geoff_Reid
  • Active But Odd
  • Bald as a chimps arse
Update: 11 months and 1,970 Miles On My Boardman MX Race
« Reply #60 on: August 02, 2014, 11:51:20 AM »
Okey dokey....

I've been riding the Boardman MX Race for almost exactly 11 months and 1,970 miles of mixed road, cycle paths, canal tow paths and unmetalled roads. 

Overall I remain very happy with it and enjoy riding it as much, if not more than the first day I had it, although I have identified a (very small) number of snags which, although less than optimal, won't prevent me from buying another Boardman.

I'll deal with the bad bits first:

Wheels & Hubs:  The MX Race is built to a specific 'entry level' price point.  Most of the bike components are quite/very good imho...with the very notable exception of the rear wheel. Both wheels are built around 32 hole QR Formula hubs.

I have literally lost track of the number of times I've needed to re-true the rear wheel.  I realised very early on that very few of the 32 spokes on the rear wheel had been correctly tensioned and, a little while later, learned that the quality of the rear hub, freehub body and spokes is not particularly high and, being a big bloke, I'm probably likely to cause more component wear/failures than an average size/weight rider.