Author Topic: Swindon Regeneration: Eastcott Residents Question Regents Circus Development  (Read 27136 times)

Offline Nando

I find it staggering that as a local resident I am only aware of this development through word of mouth within the local community and the informative video that the guys have put together (great job). Okay the site as it stands is a complete mess and agreed it needs some regeneration of sorts but some of the stories I am hearing, quite frankly frighten me. The 'opening up' of both Dover Street/Prospect Hill will only invite problems and further disturbances that are already common enough.
I find it alarming but somewhat predictable that certain traditional buildings have been overlooked, why not revamp these as part of the development and save yourself some money, bingo hall etc!?!

Offline Tobes

• Regents
Just as a quick adendum to this story - after 18 months inactivity, the Adver have published the following:

REGENERATION in Swindon will move forward in 2010 – and we will finally see the demolition of the old Swindon College building.

This is according to council leader Rod Bluh, who said progress will be made in 2010, despite increased constraints on the council’s budget.

He said multi-million pound projects to spruce up the town centre will be unveiled and work on the route from Swindon’s railway station into the centre will begin.

But Coun Bluh admitted that all eyes will be on Swindon’s most famous eyesore – the old Swindon College site at Regent Circus, which has been vacant since 2006.

He said: “I know people are waiting to see what will happen with the old college building and I am as eager as anyone else to see that move forward, but we have to make sure it is done right.

“I am confident that we are getting much closer to that point. The scheme that is being presented to us is acceptable.

“The residential element is out and the hotel is out. There has been a lot of discussion going on behind the scenes to get this right.”